Award Description

In the spring of 2020, the Association of Teachers of Mathematics in Massachusetts will award a $500 scholarship and award certificate to selected members of the class of 2020 from high schools in Massachusetts. The awards will be determined on the basis of outstanding achievement or service in the field of mathematics. One award is specifically designated for seniors at vocational, technical, or agricultural high schools. A second award will be given to a high achieving female student in the memory of Anne Elliot Smith; a mathematics teacher at Buckingham, Browne and Nichols, a member of the ATMIM Board, and a 1985 Presidential Award winner. A third award will be given in memory of J. Bryan Sullivan; a teacher and math coach at Hudson High School, past president of both the Atlantic Regions Math League and ATMIM, and organizer of mathematics conferences at the local, state, and national levels.

Scholarship applicants must be nominated by a member of the mathematics department of his or her school. Secondary schools (public or private) in Massachusetts are strongly encouraged to nominate students who have shown outstanding effort, achievement, and/or service in the area of mathematics. A committee consisting of board members and other teachers of mathematics will independently review all applications and determine the award recipients. If you have questions, please contact Jeanette Hogan at


Nomination Forms

ATMIM Scholarship Cover Letter (PDF, WORD)

ATMIM Service Award Nomination Form (PDF, WORD)

ATMIM Achievement Award Nomination Form (PDF, WORD)

Please note that the nominations must be received by March 10, 2020.

© ATMIM (Assoc. of Teachers of Mathematics in Mass.)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software